Yosemite National Park Wanderings

The last time I went to Yosemite National Park I was on a mission.  I had been training for months by running and hiking in order to prepare for a backpacking trip to the top of Half Dome.  That was nine years ago.  It was an unforgettable adventure culminating in me crawling to the edge of the dome to glance down on the minuet valley below.

Last week we returned to Yosemite with a different agenda.  This trip found us on a slower pace; hiking in the mornings to see the abundant waterfalls while taking time to photograph and sketch.   Yosemite still manages to awe me.  I can understand John Muir’s feelings about this place over 100 years ago.  I too see God’s hand here more than any other place I have ever seen.

The days were sunny and bright in the shadow of El Capitan, the falls and mighty Half Dome.  I got chills gazing up at Half Dome and thinking how less than a decade ago I had put one foot in front of the other and made it to the top.  Here are a few of my sketches and black and white photos from my adventure.  If you ever have the opportunity to visit here, seize it!

1 Comment

Filed under Adventura, arte, photography, sketch, watercolor

One response to “Yosemite National Park Wanderings

  1. Hello Marta. Yosemite does sound like an awe-inspiring place. I had never been out west until I went to NM a few years ago and I fell in love with the big rocks!
    Your painting is beautifully composed and painted. I love the scumbly black (?) lines and marks.

Leave a Reply

