Self Portrait on Newsprint

self portrait on newsprint

I’ve been having a very good art week at school.  In class I’ve been playing with mixed media; watercolor, graphite and pastel and ink.  Today the model didn’t show so we took turns posing for each other.  When I got home I thought I’d continue to play a bit and worked on this huge pad of newsprint in charcoal and conte.  This piece is 20 x 30 inches.  I know I made myself a bit ‘huge’ on the lower half which is odd because I am rather small in the lower half.  But I was having fun with the curves I wish I had!  It is always rewarding when I produce a piece in which the process was the joy of creating it.  And it does look just like me!

4 Comments

Filed under arte, charcoal/conte, Uncategorized

4 responses to “Self Portrait on Newsprint

  1. Sounds like you’ve been having a good art week. I like this portrait very much, Marta. My summer life painting class starts Sunday, and I’m nervous – I’ve drawn from life in a studio setting, but not painted. Any bets on how often a model doesn’t show?

  2. It looks just like you do in photos. Great job on the shading and lines in this. Good to see you posting again!

  3. quirkyartist

    Self portraits are so rewarding when they work out well, aren’t they. Well done.

  4. Tina

    Finally!!!! I tracked you down. lol I started following your blog a little over two years ago when I first started painting and journaling. I stopped doing it for about a yea and recently took it up again. Darned if I could find you. You are a tremendous inspiration to me and your works on this new WP blog are fabulous!!

Leave a Reply

