I made my cake and ate it too!

Yesterday was my 54th birthday.  As usually occurs on my birthday, it rains.  But yesterday’s weather will be one that for years we will be talking about.  None the less I wasn’t going to let the day go by without celebrating.

I was looking forward to making my birthday cake from a recipe in the Flat Belly Diet Cookbook.  I chose a rich chocolate cake with maple frosting.  I was pleasantly surprised that it was very good.  My family agreed that it was quite yummy.  Aside from a scoop of strawberry ice cream on the side, I enjoyed a guiltless birthday celebration.  Imagine that!

I have been enjoying the recipes in the cookbook, and even happier that in 3 weeks I have lost 4 pounds!!! I’m on a roll now so will try to keep it going.  The running hasn’t hurt either!   Tomorrow I will be running my first 10k race in over 10 years.  I hope all the hard work of the past few months will get me across the finish line!   Wish me luck!

6 Comments

Filed under Appetito

6 responses to “I made my cake and ate it too!

  1. Happy birthday, the cake looks good!

  2. Happy Birthday!!!! It sounds like you found a guiltless way to celebrate. Congrats on the weight loss too. Good luck with your race!

  3. Happy Birthday Marta.
    It sounds like you are on a mission. Great positive results!

  4. Marta, thanks for the birthday wish. I wish you the same enjoyment in your life (or even more). It is cool that we share the same birthday. I hope you have a great race. I love your wall behind the table. Your art works look so good hanging there.

  5. sandy

    Oh good luck Marta, but I am sure you do not need it. and the book looks quite intriguing – and Happy Birthday (belated) – you know 54 is the new 34!!!

  6. quirkyartist

    Jeepers Marta – you’re only a young girl!

Leave a Reply

