What has happened to my art?

This question was posed to me today by my friend Shirley at Paper and Threads.  Earlier this morning I was Skyping with my other art friend, Casey from rue Manuel bis where we both lamented about not keeping up with our art at present.  Not much sketching and definitely no painting on my part for some time now.  I don’t know really how to answer that question.  Perhaps I am in a creative block.  Or my creativity is just waiting for the right moment to begin anew.   Maybe if you just look at the joy I get from creating in my kitchen or running down the road, you would know that my (he)art is alive and well.

I too have been asking myself this question: daily in fact.  Last night I brought out some art books and today as the rain began to come down, I did a little practice sketch.  Oh good, I didn’t forget how to make art!

practice sketching

5 Comments

Filed under arte, pastel, sketch

5 responses to “What has happened to my art?

  1. I think that the urge to create, like many things in life, has an ebb and flow to it. Sometimes the flow is steady and sometimes nearly dried up…but when you’re not looking pops right up again. Luckily we have other things that we enjoy that feed the soul too.

    Just who is this darling baby you’ve sketched? Nicely done!

  2. Linda M

    Oh, I know what you mean! Me, too! sigh. I think we sometimes need a break from “drawing” art and need to live art for a while. At least that’s my story.
    🙂

  3. I am going through the same thing, I cannot find the motivation or desire to sketch anything lately. Nice drawing.

Leave a Reply

